Unsung Heroine Awards


Ted Mason (312) 590-3443

Cook County Commissioner Kevin B. Morrison recognizes “Unsung Heroine” Joane McCormack McLeod

Hoffman Estates resident received the Peggy A. Montes Unsung Heroine Award from the Cook County Commission on Women’s Issues for service to her community

CHICAGO–March 7, 2019—Cook County Commissioner Kevin B. Morrison joined Cook County Women’s Commissioner Rebecca Darr and Cook County Board President Toni Preckwinkle today in honoring Hoffman Estates resident Joane McCormack McLeod at the 22nd annual Peggy A. Montes Unsung Heroine Awards at the Chicago Cultural Center.

Each year in honor of Women’s History Month, the Cook County Commission on Women’s Issues honors one woman from each of the seventeen County districts as well as an eighteenth honoree, selected by the four at large members of the Women’s Commission. All eighteen women are recognized for their vital contributions to their respective communities and celebrated for using their time, talent, spirit, and enthusiasm to enrich and improve the lives of others.

“It’s unfortunate that women’s work and contributions to our communities too often went uncelebrated and unrecognized historically. It’s important that we recognize that both in the past and now, women play vital roles in every level of our social, cultural, economic, and political institutions; and Joane is a proof positive of that ideal,” said Commissioner Kevin Morrison. “I’m grateful the Unsung Heroine Awards gives us a chance to thank her and the 17 other remarkable women publicly and celebrate their achievements.”

Joane works as an IT Business Analyst at Links Technology and is a passionate advocate for women and children. She spent six years on the Board of Directors for the Children’s Advocacy Center and is a longtime supporter of the WINGS program. Additionally, Joane is a community leader in Hoffman Estates where she lives with her husband Mayor Bill McLeod. She has volunteered as a Girl Scout and Boy Scout leader and serves on many local commissions including the Sixtieth Anniversary Commission and the Hoffman Estates Celtic Festival Commission. Joane is the mother of five and grandmother of seven.

“The lives Joane has touched through her advocacy and community service is truly immeasurable,” said Commissioner Kevin Morrison. “I was incredibly proud to stand by her side as representatives of the 15th District and to celebrate the contributions she has made to a community that we both love.”

For more information about the Peggy A. Montes Unsung Heroine Award or to nominate a woman for a future award, please contact Commissioner Kevin Morrison’s office at (312) 603-6388 or www.commissionerkevinbmorrison.org.

About Cook County Commissioner Kevin B. Morrison:

Cook County Commissioner Kevin B. Morrison represents the 15th District which includes the Townships of Barrington, Elk Grove, Hanover and Schaumburg, as well as parts of Palatine and Wheeling Townships. A native of Elk Grove Village with a background in public service, Commissioner Morrison serves as Vice Chair of the Human Relations and Tax Delinquency committees and his core issues include improving access to mental health services and providing development opportunities and support for small businesses. For information, please contact the Commissioner’s office by calling (312) 603-6388 or visiting https://commissionerkevinbmorrison.org/

About Cook County Commission on Women’s Issues:

The Cook County Commission on Women’s Issues was created by resolution of the Cook County Board of Commissioners in October of 1995. The Commission is composed of twenty-one women, including representatives of each of the seventeen Districts across Cook County, appointed by each District’s County Commissioner, and four at-large commissioners, who are appointed by the President of the Cook County Board. The Commission develops policy and program recommendations and advises the President and members of the Cook County Board of Commissioners on issues of concern to women and girls.


Joane McLeod receives Unsung Heroine award